January 10, 2006

  • Mac annoyances

    I finally converted my sister to the dark side: she bought an Apple PowerBook G4. It was a really bad move though. Basically, I fell for the Apple hype and skipped research. I ended up troubleshooting her computer for a few days before it starts working for my sister.

    Here are a few of the annoyances I encountered:

    1. There is no way to change the GUI font sizes unless you download some third-party tools (like TinkerTool), which are, incidentally, rumored to work and not work according various users. Why isn’t this functionality built-in? I wish the people who designed the GUI system have kids with pathological myopia, just so they understand that there are users who are as sharp-eyed as bats. My sister had to set the screen resolution to 1024*768 or even 800*600 (wow, such a good way to waste a 1440*960 LCD monitor).
    2. Why am I forced to have either a private IP address or a public IP address, but not both? The AirPort interface and the PPPoE interface are logically separate, so there is no reason for the AirPort interface to not grab a private address from DHCP even when the computer is connected to the Internet through PPPoE. The network interface management must be designed by some really smart golf clubs (and you know how smart those golf clubs can get). Even Windows does a better job on that. I know this problem can be overcome manually through the use of the ifconfig command, but it’s just such a bad idea to assume that your users know Unix.
    3. Can I have a maximise window button, please? I don’t want an autofit button because the result sucks anyway. It’s like Fido giving me voice activated customer self-service: give me back the good ol’keypress system, you fucktards; I’m spending 3 times as much time to refill my cell phone with airtime because your stupid Andrea robot can’t tell the difference between “voucher” and “credit card”. I digress, but whatever…

    Anyway, think again before you switch from PC to Mac. Mac may be free of the PC annoyances, but it’s got annoyances of its own.

    - SwordAngel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *