Month: September 2005

  • Fevers are your friends

    People don’t like the feeling they get while having a fever. But did
    you know that fevers are you friends? Many people assume that the fever
    is directly caused by the virus and thus must be a bad thing. In fact
    it is not. I believe the most surprising fact is that you don’t want to
    eliminate fever. It appears that the right thing to do is to control
    it, so that it doesn’t rise above 42 degrees Celsius, and to keep it
    there until one feels better. Read more about it here.

    Why am I suddenly telling you this? The simple answer: I got a nasty
    cold/flu (I still need to figure out this one it is). Thanks to Jawaad
    for inviting me to spicy BBQ on a cold day (messing my throat up while
    my immune system is down).

    - SwordAngel

  • Bad Software Design Revisited

    Here’s a partial explanation to the problem I experienced: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=890413. Microsoft never fails to entertain me.

    - SwordAngel

  • Bad Software Design?

    After hearing about the “Apple philosophy” from Skrud, I have come to
    realize that, at times, Microsoft really sucks in rather stupid ways.
    Consider the explorer, which is pretty much the core of Windows as far
    as user experience is concerned. I have had plenty of bad experience
    with it (i.e. every time I have to do Ctrl+Alt+Delete to see that the
    damn program is not responding). Most of the time, it really is a
    matter of bad implementation, of honest bugs left in the program; and
    the computer either crashes and stops responding. This kind of problem
    is common among many software programs and one should not be too harsh
    on the programmers because debugging is really a tough, tedious, and
    tiring job. Today, however, I am really angry and frustrated. I
    reformatted my laptop’s hard disk and reinstalled Windows. Everything
    went pretty smoothly until I started accessing my desktop’s hard disk
    through WiFi. I tried to map the shared folders into network drives and
    the laptop started hanging. Not only did Windows Explorer and the Start
    menu stop responding, but other programs also froze. It took me 3 hours
    to realize that the root of the problem was not on my laptop (I would
    have been really pissed off anyway, if that was the case, since I was
    trying to fix my laptop to begin with). It turned out that my desktop’s
    wireless network card started delaying and accumulating signals for
    batch transmission as power saving mode was activated. As such, all the
    requests from my laptop were responded very very very very late. As
    soon as I turned off the power saving feature of my desktop’s network
    card, everything worked fine again and my laptop came back to life.
    Here’s a question I want to ask those software engineers at Microsoft:
    did you design explorer to hang and wait for the network folder
    response single-threadedly? Can’t you think of a better design where
    the user of one machine does not have to suffer slow response due to
    the fault of another machine?

    - SwordAngel

  • Geek Problem of the Month

    It’s that time of the year again, where school has just started and you
    realize your computer is totally messed – the hard disk is full of
    garbage, important software stops working, or one of your RAM slots
    just got fried, etc., you name it. In my case, the Java runtime on my
    laptop is the problem. About two weeks ago, the Java runtime ceased to
    communicate with the Internet. I can’t update Eclipse or NetBeans, and
    I can’t use applets in my browsers. I reinstalled the Java runtime to
    no avail, so I decided it’s about time I back up things and cast the
    ultimate spell of recovery: reformat and reinstall Windows.

    Well, I figure that, while I’m at it, why don’t I repartition the hard
    disk and install Ubuntu Linux too? After all, I’m a geek and
    dual-booting Windows+Linux would make me look more 1337. The only thing
    that’s bugging me now is the inability to use “PPP over WiFi” (instead
    PPP of Ethernet) in Linux. I need that for my DSL Internet connection.
    I have searched in many forums, asked many users of Linux and Ubuntu,
    and have learned no solution. I know that usually people just configure
    the router to do the authentication and to share the Internet
    connection; but since my ISP is very generous and allows multiple
    logins, I want to take advantage and get one public IP for each
    computer on my network instead of sharing one public IP among the
    computers. So here it is, the Geek Problem of the Month: how to set up
    PPP over WiFi in Linux. Here’s a hint: using the pppoeconfig and
    rp-pppoe utilies is not good enough (otherwise I wouldn’t post this
    problem up here anyway, right?).

    - SwordAngel

  • Where is my RSS or ATOM feed?

    Now that I think about it, I really wonder why I have not switched to
    another blog host. I mean, I paid for a Lifetime membership and I don’t
    even get to publish RSS or ATOM feeds. Many of my friends have been
    wanted to subscribe to this blog through RSS feed and couldn’t find
    one. Should I switch?

    - SwordAngel

  • New activity

    I have started learning tai-chi (taiji quan) Sunday mornings. The style
    I’m learning is the Yang’s 108-step form. It’s fun and inexpensive
    (only 10$ for permenant membership and 35$ for ten lessons of 1 hour 15
    minutes). The reason I like taiji is because I can practice it
    anywhere, without any equipment (unlike other sports). The literature
    even says that you can practice taiji while lying down or walking,
    because what’s important is not the actions, but rather your
    consciousness of your own body, the flow of vital energy (the qi).
    The practice postures that you see is only the “frame” that
    allows beginners to more easily exercise their consciousness and flow
    of qi. This is one of the mysteries in Chinese culture that I would
    like to understand and experience first-hand.

    - SwordAngel