September 16, 2005

  • New activity

    I have started learning tai-chi (taiji quan) Sunday mornings. The style
    I'm learning is the Yang's 108-step form. It's fun and inexpensive
    (only 10$ for permenant membership and 35$ for ten lessons of 1 hour 15
    minutes). The reason I like taiji is because I can practice it
    anywhere, without any equipment (unlike other sports). The literature
    even says that you can practice taiji while lying down or walking,
    because what's important is not the actions, but rather your
    consciousness of your own body, the flow of vital energy (the qi).
    The practice postures that you see is only the "frame" that
    allows beginners to more easily exercise their consciousness and flow
    of qi. This is one of the mysteries in Chinese culture that I would
    like to understand and experience first-hand.

    - SwordAngel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *