March 19, 2005

  • Food…

    Mom has been gone for over two weeks now. The greatest concerns for my
    sister and me are food, housekeeping, and transport. Housekeeping and
    transport are quite straight forward and we have those under control
    already. Food, however, proves to be more tricky. The other day Chris
    asked me if my sister is making food for me now and I was like “… ya,
    my sister… and Chinese restaurants”. Chris was shaking his head and
    chuckling. My sister doesn’t make all the food though; I cook too.
    Anyway, here’s what we made for supper tonight. First there were the
    chicken breasts that have been sitting in the fridge, defrosted for
    over a week. They went “funky” before we knew it, so we had to throw
    that away. Then there’s the new omelette that my sister invented…
    with diced Chinese conserved sausage (臘腸, làcháng) o_O. It was good
    though; I just never thought about using Chinese conserved sausage. And
    then I put too much water in the rice when re-heating it so it got a
    bit mushy. I made some stir-fried watercress with a bit of chopped
    garlic (we Cantonese people put chopped garlic in a lot of stir-fried
    dishes) and it was good too.

    We’re still trying to stay away from last-resort stuff like curry, sweet and sour chicken, and instant ramen as much as possible, lol.

    The food reserve should allow us to subsist for another month without
    major grocery trips, hehe. I mean, we do have like 20 kg of rice in the
    basement and a lot of meat, McCain Garlic Fingers, muffins, buns,
    Shanghai noodle, etc. in the freezer.

    - SwordAngel

Comments (2)

  • Makes me miss when i was living w/ my sis and all i had to think about after work, was what we’ll cook for diner, when we’ll do our laundry, do groceries, clean up the place… so much better than trying to figure out quantum wires when i don’t care an ounce about them!!!

  • Hihi Ka Lun, how long will your mom will gone?! When is she coming back?! haha If you want, you can pass by my place to “chi chan” hahahaha you live like… 2 mins from my house anyways! haha Anyways, happy you have a BLOG! haha wohhaha you know my computer knowledge ga la… :S anyways, I need to give you back your cds la. Take care for now, Carmen

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *